Skip to main content

Vague Pains presents: Fragile Rush

Vague Pains is a music project by Zachary Lemon, a musician, and multi-instrumentalist with a focus on creating songs that set the bar higher in terms of genre definitions and sonic aesthetics. Recently, he has announced a new album titled Fragile Rush. This release features ten songs, each offering a glimpse into Zachary’s extremely diverse sound and style.

The opener, “Orion In Pursuit,” serves as a compelling introduction, immediately revealing the mood of the album and its ethereal yet haunting soundscapes. The second song, “Artist’s Soul,” offers a somber, slow-paced sound with mesmerizing distorted riffs and reverb-drenched vocals that are whisper-quiet but hypnotic and direct. The following number, “Locked Away,” is a drier, more melodic piece of music, which features jangly dream-pop guitars and great melodies with a lush feel. “Feathering Out” follows soon after, offering a more laid-back vibe and some expansive yet sparsely beautiful melodies. The guitar textures and synthesizers merge beautifully, creating a bright and sparkly melodic backdrop over the vocals.

The song “Spirit Lines” happens to be right in the middle of the album. The fifth song. The sound is slightly more experimental, with a stronger focus on synthetic textures and more emphasis on the bass as the driving force to propel the song’s groove. The vocals are also more present, showcasing a more assertive melody and some great harmonies in the background.

“Made Strong” is perhaps one of the most experimental pieces of music in this entire release. The track, which clocks in at 04:30, features shimmering synth tones and laidback drums. A ride cymbal offers an ethereal accompaniment to the music, making for a wash rhythm that still cuts beautifully through the many instruments and reverberated textures. 

The following tune, “Stand Apart,” begins with a glitchy synth texture, only to give way to a faster post-punk-inspired arrangement. The vocals are more upfront and less whispered than on the rest of the album, at times even venturing into louder territory! The balance between quiet and loud is what makes this song quite special, and the overall mood offers a different, more upbeat diversion on the album.

“The Long Way” is yet another track that leans toward a different vibe. This happens to be one of the longest songs on the album, and the extra time enables the artist to create a rich and immersive tapestry. The chorused guitar lines are absolutely beautiful, as are the melodic bass lines that provide so much brightness and attach to the groove.

“Typewriter” is all about creating an amazing experimental rhythm, using, arguably, samples from a typewriter in order to create a very “musique concrete” feel for this piece of music. The vibrato-heavy synthesizers are also a fantastic addition to this composition, which is almost like a shorter interlude separating the rest of the album with its ambitious final song.

Speaking of, “Fragile Rush” is the longest track and a great conclusion to an album that’s understated yet immersive and diverse in its sonic tapestry.

Throughout the album, the interplay between reverberated vocals and effect-laden guitar lines gives the music a dreamlike quality, adding depth and texture to the sound. While the amazing guitar and synth work immediately stands out, the vocals are also impressively laid out throughout the album. 

Zachary’s layered vocal harmonies blend seamlessly with the music, adding to the depth of the overall atmosphere. In addition, the drums do exactly what they should do, providing a steady, hypnotic rhythm that underpins the music without overshadowing any other element.

This release is highly recommended to artists into the sound of bands such as DIIV, Dead Rituals, My Bloody Valentine, Deafheaven, Slowdive, and many more.

Don’t miss out on Vague Pains’s music, and stay tuned for the release of Fragile Rush, which will be available on streaming services from 9/29/2023. However, eager listeners can already find the song on Bandcamp and Soundcloud!


Popular posts from this blog

A shoegaze take on Neil Young, Nirvana, Ramones and more on covers EP by Dead Rituals

  Dead Rituals has been straddling the line between Post-Punk and Shoegaze, releasing original songs and EPs since the project’s inception in 2019. Still, songwriter Andrea Caccese felt stranded and alone throughout the 2020 lockdown.   Like many artists, he found himself stuck in a small apartment with uncertainty and doubt. He didn't feel like working on original music throughout the ordeal, so he sought refuge in some of his favorite songs. This resulted in a series of cover songs shared weekly through social media over the lockdown. Instead of replicating the originals verbatim, Dead Rituals revisited the songs through the scope of post-punk and shoegaze.  Some of the songs ended up on a small EP, now available on Spotify . “Selected Covers” features a surprisingly diverse setlist. Dead Rituals offers a different spin on tracks by Radiohead, Neil Young, Mac Miller, Nirvana, Ramones, Blink-182, and even Justin Bieber. More cover songs are also available on the artist's Band

The Bang! Tales explores post-punk and garage aesthetics on a new self-titled EP.

The Bang! Tales is a band focusing on capturing the grit of old-school post-punk music, incorporating elements of garage and other influences. The group’s most recent self-titled EP is a perfect example of what to expect. The song “Oh! Tonite” has a 70s proto-punk flavor, with a relentless riff and hypnotic vocals. “Call Me Madeleine” follows along the same lines, offering an upbeat rock and roll attitude, this time with more focus on melody. The third track is titled “…And then comes the sun.” The melodic introduction of the guitar riff is reminiscent of iconic artists like Johnny Thunders. At the same time, the vocals have a deeper sound that might remind the audience of early punk groups like The Avengers. “The Thrill” is perhaps the fastest and rawest song on the album. The guitar riff is bare-bones but extremely powerful and punchy, capturing the primal essence of what makes rock music so immediate and true. Lastly, “My Lula” is an outstanding curtain closer.   This new release f

Black Masses has released a new alt-rock single: So Long, Sailor.

Black Masses is an alternative rock duo with a broad creative scope. The pair channels a wide range of influences, including garage, classic rock, and alternative music, blurring the lines between the staples of rock music and a more innovative twist. The song kicks off with a droning sound that immediately builds the drama and texture of the instrumental. Soon after, the duo dives into a fuzzy, edgy tone that retains some melody. The drum sound, in particular, defines the aesthetics of the recording with a compressed, big, distorted roomy tone. The bass also has an overdriven thump that cuts through the mix while lifting the guitars in the process. The vocals are a perfect match with the intensity of the instrumental, which has a post-grunge flavor. You can expect walls of guitar, and a massive overall soundscape, which combines the classic grit of alternative music with a penchant for lush soundscapes that add a sense of depth to the arrangement. “So Long, Sailor” happens to be the f